IOC Members in Croatia


Three Croats have substantially contributed to the Olympic movement and its undoubtedly positive influence on the international community. Those were Anton Vrdoljak, IOC Member from 1995 to 2012, Boris Bakrac, IOC Member from 1960 to 1987, and Franjo Bucar,IOC Member from 1920 to 1946.


Read more ...

Antun Vrdoljak, an eminent sports official and politician, was elected President of the Croatian Olympic Committee at the founding assembly on 10 September 1991, as the representative of the Croatian Athletics Association, one of the 29 national Olympic sports associations, which were the founding members of the Croatian Olympic Committee.

FRANJO BUCAR IOC Member from 1920 to 1946. Franjo Bucar, a promoter of the modern Olympic movement in Croatia, was born in Zagreb, on 25 November 1866. He received his B.A. in History and Geography from the University of Zagreb, and his Ph.D. in History in Graz, Austria, in 1897.

Boris Bakrac was born in Slavonska Pozega on 25 March 1912. He was elected to the IOC at the session in Rome during the Games of the XVII Olympiad in 1960. He remained an IOC member until 1987, when he voluntarily resigned his membership not wanting to exercise the right to lifelong membership.