About the Croatian Olympic Committee


The Croatian Olympic Committee (HOO) is the highest sports association in Croatia, founded on 10 September 1991 in Zagreb. Its mission is to permanently contribute to the promotion of sport as a universal civilisational heritage; spreading of the Olympic principles, as well as ethical and moral standards in sport; creating top sports achievements of Croatian athletes; promotion of the Republic of Croatia as a democratic state; fair relationships among the participants in sport. The Croatian Olympic Committee's task is to protect the Olympic symbols. It represents Croatian sport in the International Olympic Committee and other international sports organisations.


The IOC granted the Croatian Olympic Committee outright recognition at its 101st Session, held in Monaco on 24 September 1993. Since 1995, the Croatian Olympic Committee has been marking 17 January, the date of the provisional recognition by the IOC, as the Great Day of Croatian Sport.  The first President of the Croatian Olympic Committee was Antun Vrdoljak (1991 – 2000), who was appointed to the IOC at its 104th Assembly in Budapest in 1995.


The Croatian Olympic Committee is a full member of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC), the European Olympic Committees (EOC), the International Committee of Mediterranean Games (ICMG) and the European Non-Governmental Sports Organisation (ENGSO).


The Croatian Olympic Committee is the founder of the Croatian Olympians Club (1993), the Croatian Olympic Academy (1996), the Sports Arbitration Council and Sports Arbitration Tribunal (1999), and the co-founder of the European Fair Play Movement (1994), the Croatian Athletes Foundation (2006), the Croatian Fair-Play Committee (2006), the Female Sports Coordinators Network (2006) and a number of other organizations belonging to the Croatian and international Olympic movement.


Presidents of COC

Statute of COC - 2016