Matija Ljubek Award

The COC Matija Ljubek Award, which was called the Croatian Olympic Committee Trophy from 1992 to 2000, is the highest COC prize, awarded to individuals as a lifetime achievement award and a token of appreciation and honour for their substantial contribution to sport, and to associations which have contributed to the development of various sports areas, from physical culture and healthcare of children and young people, sports and recreation activities, to the development of a particular sport or sports in general.

The award consists of a bronze portrait sculpture of Matija Ljubek by Croatian sculptor Stipe Sikirica and a certificate. It is presented at the Great Day of Croatian Sport, the ceremony marking the COC's admission to the IOC on 17 January 1992.

The greatest Croatian Olympic Committee’s award Matija Ljubek 2018 was presented to Vjekoslav Šafranić (karate), Danko Jerković (vaterpolo), Brako Omazić (basketball), Ante Tanfara (karate and kickboxing)) and the Handball Club Rudar from Rude.

The greatest Croatian Olympic Committee’s award Matija Ljubek 2017 was presented to Zrinko Gregurek and Dragutin Šurbek from Zagreb, Zvjezdana Tuma Pavlov from Osijek, Vlaho Asić from Split and the Sports-Fishing Association Priroda Vinkovci for a remarkable contribution to the development of sports in Croatia.

The winners of the Croatian Olympic Committee's highest award, the award Matija Ljubek for lifetime achievement in sports for 2015, are: Erna Hawelka Rađenović, Olympian, top Croatian athlete and sports official from Zagreb, Romano Bajlo, Olympian, top Croatian rower and rowing coach from Zadar, Ante Nakić, top water polo coach from Šibenik, Ivan Kralj, athlete and experienced sports official for field hockey from Sv. Ivan Zelina and GNK (Civil football club) Dinamo for football school established in December 1957.